SDS@hd/SV Management New
| For users of the SDS@hd Management Tool: |
|
We've replaced the SDS@hd Management website with the bwServices Management website. The main changes in the registration and management process are as follows:
|
This page provides an overview of options to structure projects that use SDS@hd. The simple use case is:
- One research project has one bwServices-Management Project.
- One bwServices-Management Project has one SV.
- Both have the same group of members.
The graphic below visualizes one option for another setup. Depending on your preferences of who should have access to which data, you can structure things differently.
bwServices Management
In bwServices Management the top level entity is a project. Every bwIDM member with employee status can create a project by going to the Projects page (Home -> Projects) and then clicking on the "Add a project" button. A project can have multiple users. For specifics regarding the different roles in a project see the Roles section.
Adding users to a project: On the project's page either the button on the top or next to the users list can be used for adding users. Users that already logged in to the bwServices Management page once, can be found via their user id. Aternatively, users can be sent an invite link via their email address. The email address for sending the invite doesn't need to be the address that is later on used for their account on bwServices Management. When a user clicks on the invite link they have to login to bwServices Management. Afterwards they are a part of the project with the account that they logged in with.
A project can have multiple allocations. Having an allocation means that you can allocate a resource like SDS@hd for your project. An allocation comes with its own form to fill in and its own terms to agree to. You can find detailed instructions under Registration/Apply for new SV.
Adding users to an allocation:
An allocation can have multiple users. The users can be chosen from the list of project members.
Here is an overview of the most important pages and what you can find there:
Roles in a Project
There are three different roles in a project. Depending on the role, different management activites can be executed at bwServices Management. These are described below. They include top level management of user access.
User
Users can...
- ...view project information.
- ...view allocations that they are a member of.
- ...enable/disable notifications.
Project Manager (PM)
Additionally to the abilities of a User, a PM can...
- ...add and remove Users from the project.
- ...add and remove Users from allocations.
- ...change the roles of Users on project and allocation level (Project: User <-> PM; SV: None <-> Guest).
- ...enable/disable notifications for other Users.
- ...always receive email notifications.
- ...write an email to all Project Users.
- ...request new allocations.
- ...change project attributes.
- ...add publications.
- ...extend project lifetime.
- ...extend allocation lifetime.
Yearly Project Extension
Once a year the PI or a PM in the project needs to apply for a lifetime extension. This is indicated by the label "Project Review". Please update your project information first before applying for the extension. Especially, update the list of publications for which the allocated resources (e.g. SDS@hd) were used.
Principal Investigator (PI)
A PI is automatically a PM as well. Additionally to the abilities of a PM, the PI...
- ...is responsible for the whole project. This includes all allocations, independently of who requested them.
- ...is automatically a member of every allocation.
- ...can archive (~delete) the project.
Archiving a Project
Caution: Same as deleting all allocations! For project owners there is a button for archiving the project in the upper right part of the project page. Archiving means that the status of the allocations changes to "expired" and thedeprovisioning process starts. The project with its description will be deprovisioned some time after all allocations are removed.
Roles in a SV
The SV users keep their project roles (PI/PM/User). Additionally, they can hold the Guest role in an SV. The roles within the context of an SV are described below.
All SV Users
At bwServices Management they can...
- ...view their role in the SV. If no Role column is shown, there are no users with a Guest role in the SV.
- ...view the status of the SV (active/expired, end date)
Guests
As soon as the first user is defined as Guest via bwServices Management, a "guest" folder is created in the SV. A Guest can see but not access content in the SV root. They can only work within the "guest" folder.
PMs
PMs in the project can manage the SV as mentioned in their role description.
Adjust SV Attributes
To change the properties of your SV, you can hand in a Change Request. When you request a quota expansion for your SV at the SDS@hd service in order to store hot scientific data, we kindly ask you to answer the questions in the justification textfield for reasoning the extension.
Please also consider the following remarks: Upon increasing storage capacities, there will also be a need for further activities in the reporting from your side, e.g. by pointing out the usage of SDS@hd in scientific publications to us. More information about this can be found here: https://wiki.bwhpc.de/e/SDS@hd/Acknowledgement Please consider raising funds for the usage and further operation of the SDS@hd service. We will gladly support you with this.
Yearly SV Extension
Once a year a PM in the SV needs to apply for a lifetime extension of the storage project. This is indicated by the label "Allocation Renewal". As long as SDS@hd is used appropriately, an extension will be granted. Warning: You have to apply for the extension in the given timeframe. When you're too late, you have to contact the sds-support to get the extension. SVs that don't get extended, are going to be deleted by us, see SV Deprovisioning. Before the deletion, the PI is informed via email.
SV Deprovisioning
The deprovisioning basically contains the following steps:
- The access of the SV-group to the SV is blocked. The access to any data that is saved within the SV is not possible anymore.
- After a specific period of time all data in the SV gets permanently deleted.
FAQ
- How can I remove myself from an allocation or project?
- This is not possible. You must ask a PM to remove you.
- How can I deactivate Users?
- Users can't be deactivated. They can only be removed from allocations or projects.
- My project or my allocation ist expired. How can I prolong it?
- Please submit a Ticket
- How can the PI of a project be changed?
- This is currently not possible but will be possible in the future.