SDS@hd/SV Management New
| For users of the SDS@hd Management Tool: |
|
We've replaced the SDS@hd Management website with the bwServices Management website. The main changes in the registration and management process are as follows:
|
bwServices Management
In bwServices Management the top level entity is a project. Every bwIDM member with employee status can create a project by going to the Projects page (Home -> Projects) and then clicking on the "Add a project" button. A project can have multiple users. For specifics regarding the different roles in a project see the Roles section.
Adding users to a project: On the project's page either the button on the top or next to the users list can be used for adding users. Users that already logged in to the bwServices Management page once, can be found via their user id. Aternatively, users can be sent an invite link via their email address. The email address for sending the invite doesn't need to be the address that is later on used for their account on bwServices Management. When a user clicks on the invite link they have to login to bwServices Management. Afterwards they are a part of the project with the account that they logged in with.
A project can have multiple allocations. Having an allocation means that you can allocate a resource like SDS@hd for your project. An allocation comes with its own form to fill in and its own terms to agree to.
Adding allocations to a project:
- In the Allocations section of the project's page is a button for adding a new allocation. Currently, the only allocation that can be chosen is an allocation for the resource SDS@hd. An SDS@hd allocation is called SV (Speichervorhaben / storage project).
- After filling in the form and agreeing to the terms, the allocation is shown on the project page with the status 'New'. A 'New' allocation is not approved, yet, and therefore not usable.
- As soon as the allocation application was reviewed and approved, an email informs about the activation of the allocation.
Adding users to an allocation:
An allocation can have multiple users. The users can be chosen from the list of project members.
Here is an overview of the most important pages and what you can find there:
Email notifications:
- Users can enable/disable notifications.
- PMs can enable/disable notifications for other Users.
- PMs always receive email notifications.
- PMs can write an email to all Project Users.
Roles in a Project
There are three different roles in a project. Depending on the role, different management activites can be executed at bwServices Management. These are described below. They include top level management of user access.
User
- View project information
- Change their notification settings
- See allocations that they are a member of
- See their status
Project Manager (PM)
Additionally to the abilities of a User, a PM can...
- ...add and remove Users from the project.
- ...add and remove Users from allocations.
- ...change the roles of project members (User <-> PM).
- ...request new allocations.
Principal Investigator (PI)
A PI is automatically a PM as well. Additionally to the abilities of a PM, the PI...
- ...is responsible for the whole project. This includes all allocations, independently of who requested them.
- ...is automatically a member of every allocation.
Roles in a SV
The SV users keep their project roles (PI/PM/User). Additionally, they can hold the Guest role in an SV. The roles within the context of an SV are described below.
All SV Users
At bwServices Management they can...
- ...view their role in the SV. If no Role column is shown, there are no users with a Guest role in the SV.
- ...view the status of the SV (active/expired, end date)
Guests
same as before...
Adjust SV Attributes
To change the properties of your SV, you can hand in a Change Request. When you request a quota expansion for your SV at the SDS@hd service in order to store hot scientific data, we kindly ask you to answer the questions in the justification textfield for reasoning the extension.
Please also consider the following remarks: Upon increasing storage capacities, there will also be a need for further activities in the reporting from your side, e.g. by pointing out the usage of SDS@hd in scientific publications to us. More information about this can be found here: https://wiki.bwhpc.de/e/SDS@hd/Acknowledgement Please consider raising funds for the usage and further operation of the SDS@hd service. We will gladly support you with this.
Yearly Project Extension
Once a year the PI or a PM in the project needs to apply for a lifetime extension. As part of the application, you will be asked to inform us of publications for which the allocated resources (e.g. SDS@hd) were used.
Yearly SV Extension
Once a year a PM in the SV needs to apply for a lifetime extension of the storage project. As long as SDS@hd is used appropriately, an extension will be granted. Warning: You have to apply for the extension in the given timeframe. When you're too late, you have to contact the sds-support to get the extension. SVs that don't get extended, are going to be deleted by us. Before the deletion, the PI is informed via email.
Archiving a Project
Caution: Same as deleting all allocations! For project owners there is a button for archiving the project in the upper right part of the project page. Archiving means that the status of the allocations changes to "expired" and thedeprovisioning process starts. The project with its description will be deprovisioned some time after all allocations are removed.
SV Deprovisioning
The deprovisioning basically contains the following steps:
- The access of the SV-group to the SV is blocked. The access to any data that is saved within the SV is not possible anymore.
- After a specific period of time all data in the SV gets permanently deleted.
FAQ
- How can I remove myself from an allocation or project?
- This is not possible. You must ask a PM to remove you.
- How can I deactivate Users?
- Users can't be deactivated. They can only be removed from allocations or projects.
- My project or my allocation ist expired. How can I prolong it?
- Please submit a Ticket
- How can the PI of a project be changed?
- This is currently not possible but will be possible in the future.